August 7, 2011

The MLB vs. The NBA

Noticed this the other day and thought it was pretty interesting; in the past 10 years only 1 MLB team has one the World Series more than once. The Boston Red Sox in 2004/2007. I love this trend because it gives almost every team "hope" that they can win it all.

The List:
2010    San Francisco Giants
2009    New York Yankees
2008    Philadelphia Phillies
2007    Boston Red Sox
2006    St. Louis Cardinals
2005    Chicago White Sox
2004    Boston Red Sox
2003    Florida Marlins
2002    Anaheim Angels
2001    Arizona Diamondbacks

The NBA is the total opposite. For example; the Western Conference champion has been one of 3 teams, the Mavericks, Spurs or Lakers since 1999, 13 YEARS!

1999     San Antonio Spurs
2000     Los Angeles Lakers
2001     Los Angeles Lakers
2002     Los Angeles Lakers
2003     San Antonio Spurs
2004     Los Angeles Lakers
2005     San Antonio Spurs
2006     Dallas Mavericks
2007     San Antonio Spurs
2008     Los Angeles Lakers
2009     Los Angeles Lakers
2010     Los Angeles Lakers
2011     Dallas Mavericks

In the past 28 years (since 1984) only 8 teams have won an NBA Championship; half of those coming from 2 teams:

Los Angeles Lakers (8)
Chicago Bulls (6)
San Antonio Spurs (4)
Boston Celtics (3)
Detroit Pistons (3)
Houston Rockets (2)
Miami Heat (1)
Dallas Mavericks (1)

The Atlanta Hawks have a pretty good team, but it would be a complete shocker if they were to get past the Celtics or Heat. I know that, they know that and that's just the way it is.